Home >> Yoga-Therapy

“Our bodies are our gardens & our wills are our gardeners.” — Shakespeare

“Change is not something that we should fear. Rather, it is something that we should welcome. For without change, nothing in this world would ever grow or blossom, and no one in this world would ever move forward to become the person they’re meant to be.”

–B.K.S Iyengar

What is Yoga?

Yoga is a 5000 years old ancient Indian practice which deals with the well-being of human mind body and soul. The Laws of Yoga are called YogaSutra, which were given by a saint, philosopher and physician named Patanjali. He is undoubtedly called to be the father of yoga. The laws are beyond time and space and found true even today. These laws help us to lead a life full of bliss & happiness.

The purpose of yoga is to still the mind stuff and unites the basic human consciousness with its original state of complete consciousness or Purusha.

It is believed that human being is made up of 5 layers or Koshas that act in unison. These five sheets are
1) The Annamaya Kosha, which is the physical body
2) The Pranamaya Kosha, which is our astral body
3) The Manomaya Koasha, which is our mental body
4)The Vigyanmaya Kosha, which is our higher overmind
5) The Anandmaya Kosha, which is the blissful sheath

To align the Koshas together Saint Patanjali described a system of the eightfold path called Ashtanga (Eight Limbed Path). These eight steps of yoga are

1) Yama – Universal Morality
2) Niyama – Personal Observances
3) Asanas – Body Postures
4) Pranayam – Breathing Exercises | Control of Prana
5) Pratyahara – Control of Senses
6) Dharana – Concentration and cultivating inner perpetual awareness
7) Dhyana – Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
8) Samadhi – Union with the Divine

Patanjali described the first five limbs as the external form of yoga and the last three are internal.

Book Appointment

Book Appointment Here